JOINT CALLS

ERA PERMED 1st JOINT TRANSNATIONAL CALL FOR PROPOSALS (2018)

CALL IS OPEN

Joint Transnational Call for Proposals (2018) for “research projects on personalised medicine – smart combination of pre-clinical and clinical research with data and ict solutions”

Deadline for pre-proposal submission is: April 10th, 2018 (17:00, CET)

ERA PerMed is a new ERA-Net Cofund, supported by 31 partners of 22 countries and cofunded by the European Commission. To align national research strategies, promote excellence, reinforce the competitiveness of European players in PM, and enhance the European collaboration with non-EU countries, 31 funding organisations have agreed to launch the first Joint Transnational Call for collaborative innovative research projects in Personalised Medicine (PM). The funding organisations participating in this call particularly wish to promote innovative interdisciplinary collaboration and to encourage translational research proposals.
  • Opening of online submission tool: 14th February 2018
  • Submission deadline for pre-proposals: 10th April 2018 (17:00 CET)
  • Submission deadline for full-proposals: 5th July 2018 (17:00 CET)

Electronic submission website

Research project consortia who intend to submit a transnational proposal should register as soon as possible under https://secure.pt-dlr.de/ptoutline/app/erapermed2018, by clicking on “sign up” and follow further instructions. Electronic proposal submission is mandatory on: https://secure.pt-dlr.de/ptoutline/app/erapermed2018.

Contact person for the Joint Call Secretariat:

The ERA PerMed Joint Call Secretariat is hosted by the National Institute of Health Carlos III:

Víctor Estrada
Monforte de Lemos 5, 28029 Madrid, SPAIN
Phone: +34 9182 22461
Email: eranetpm@isciii.es

CALL Documents

AIMS OF THE CALL

The overall aim of the call is to fund projects showing clinical feasibility of PM in complex diseases (including multifactorial, monogenic and other diseases). By feasibility is meant the demonstration of significant and clinically relevant improvement of current diagnostics and/or therapeutics, based on improved understanding of underlying molecular mechanisms. Furthermore, applicants are expected to combine pre-clinical and/or clinical research with bio-informatics components to enable data quality on one side and the potential applicability for health care providers on the other side.

The overall objectives of the ERA PerMed call are (i) to support translational research projects in the field of Personalised Medicine; (ii) to encourage and enable interdisciplinarity, in combining pre-clinical and/or clinical research with computational components and; (iii) to encourage collaboration between academia (research teams from universities, higher education institutions, public research performing institutions), clinical/public health research (research teams from hospital/ public health institutions, healthcare settings and other healthcare organisations) and private partners e.g. SMEs (Small and Medium-size Enterprises).

Scope OF THE CALL

Proposals must be interdisciplinary and clearly demonstrate the potential impact in PM as well as the added value of transnational collaboration. Each project proposal MUST tackle both major research areas: The Research Area 1: “Validation, pre-clinical and clinical biomedical research – Translating Basic to Clinical Research and Beyond” and the Research Area 2: Data analysis, management and protection – Integrating Big Data and ICT Solutions” by addressing at least one module out of each research area:
  • Module 1A: Pre-clinical Research and/or Module 1B: Clinical Research from Research Area 1.
  • Module 2A: Data and ICT – Enabling Technology and/or Module 2B: Data and ICT – Towards application in health care from Research Area 2.
Both research areas and the four modules are equal in relevance for this call:

GENERAL (eligibility) CONDITIONS FOR APPLICATION

Joint research proposals may be submitted by applicants belonging to one of the following categories, if eligible according to relevant national/regional funding organisations regulations for research funding:
  1. Academia (research teams working in universities, other higher education institutions) or research institutes;
  2. Clinical/public health sector (research teams working in hospitals/public health and/or other health care settings and health organisations). Participation of medical doctors in the research teams is encouraged;
  3. (Industry) Private partners, e.g. SMEs (small and medium-size enterprises).
Please note
Whilst applications will be submitted jointly by groups from several countries, individual groups will be funded by the individual ERA PerMed funding organisation respective of the country/region from which applicants have applied. The applications are therefore subject to eligibility criteria and regulations of individual funding organisations. Applicants are strongly advised to contact their national representatives of the participating relevant funding organisation as soon as possible in order to confirm their eligibility (see also “Contact details of participating members”).

Only transnational projects will be funded. Each consortium submitting a proposal must involve at least three partners eligible for funding coming from three different countries whose funding organisations participate to the call (see “Contact details of participating members”). All three legal entities must be independent from each other. The maximum number of partners per project is six though not more than 2 eligible partners from the same country participating in the call will be accepted in one project consortium.

Research groups not eligible for funding (e.g. from non-funding countries or not fundable according to national/regional regulations of the participating funding organisation) may participate in transnational projects if they are able to secure their own funding. However, no more than one research group with own funding can be included in a consortium and the coordinator must be eligible to be funded by the participating funding organisations to this call.

At the full-proposal stage, a consortium might be increased up to seven partners in total only by inclusion of a partner coming from an underrepresented country. A list of underrepresented countries will be provided to coordinators invited for full-proposals submission.

ICPerMed Partnering tool

If you are looking for potential partners, please have a look also at the ICPerMed Partnering Tool: https://partnering.pt-dlr.de/ICPerMed

Contact details of participating members

Austria, Belgium, Canada (Quebec), Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany (Saxon), Hungary, Ireland, Israel, Italy (Lombardy), Latvia, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Romania, Slovenia, Spain (Catalonia, Navarre), Sweden and Turkey.

Country Funding Organisation Contact point Email
AUSTRIA FWF Stephanie Resch
Iris Fortmann
Stephanie.Resch@fwf.ac.at
Iris.Fortmann@fwf.ac.at
BELGIUM** F.R.S.-FNRS Joël Groeneveld
Florence Quist
joel.groeneveld@frs-fnrs.be
florence.quist@frs-fnrs.be
CANADA CIHR Adrian Puga adrian.puga@cihr-irsc.gc.ca
CANADA (QUEBEC) FRQS Anne-Cécile Desfaits Annececile.desfaits@frq.gouv.qc.ca
CROATIA MSE Staša Skenžić
Alan Hrvoje Pavletić
Alen Hutinovic
Stasa.Skenzic@mzo.hr
AlanHrvoje.Pavletic@mzo.hr
Alen.Hutinovic@mzo.hr
DENMARK InnoFond Ejner Moltzen Ejner.moltzen@innofond.dk
ESTONIA ETAg Aare Ignat Aare.Ignat@etag.ee
ESTONIA MSA Ain Aaviksoo ain.aaviksoo@sm.ee
FINLAND AKA Jukka Reivinen jukka.reivinen@aka.fi
nina.kaminen-ahola@aka.fi
FRANCE ANR Monika Frenzel ERAPerMed@agencerecherche.fr
GERMANY* BMBF/DLR Katja Kuhlmann
Wolfgang Ballensiefen
katja.kuhlmann@dlr.de
wolfgang.ballensiefen@dlr.de
GERMANY (SACHSEN) SMWK Eva Damm
Gabriele Süptitz
permed@smwk.sachsen.de
HUNGARY NKFIH Dr. Klára Horváth klara.horvath@nkfih.gov.hu
IRELAND HRB Dr Caitriona Creely ccreely@hrb.ie
ISRAEL CSO-MOH Yahaloma Gat y.gat@moh.gov.il
ITALY IT-MoH Dr. Gaetano Guglielmi
Dr. Maria Josè Ruiz Alvarez
g.guglielmi@sanita.it
mj.ruizalvarez-esterno@sanita.it
ITALY (LOMBARDY) FRRB Gianni D’Errico
Carmen De Francesco
gianni.derrico@frrb.it
carmen.defrancesco@frrb.it
LATVIA VIAA Maija Bundule
Uldis Berkis
Maija.Bundule@viaa.gov.lv
Uldis.Berkis@viaa.gov.lv
LUXEMBOURG FNR Marie-Claude Marx marie-claude.marx@fnr.lu
NORWAY RCN Karianne Solaas kso@rcn.no
POLAND NCBR Marcin Chmielewski marcin.chmielewski@ncbr.gov.pl
ROMANIA UEFISCDI Mihaela Manole
Nicoleta Dumitrache
Mihaela.manole@uefiscdi.ro
Nicoleta.dumitrache@uefiscdi.ro
SLOVENIA MIZS Dr. Eva Batista eva.batista@gov.si
SPAIN ISCIII Victor Estrada
Dori Campo
eranetpm@isciii.es
SPAIN CDTI Juan Luis Romera
Javier Canizares
juanluis.romera@cdti.es
javier.canizares@cdti.es
SPAIN (CATALONIA) DS-CAT Montserrat Llavayol peris@gencat.cat
SPAIN (NAVARRE) GN Sara Torres storresl@navarra.es
SWEDEN SRC Malin Eklund Malin.Eklund@vr.se
THE NETHERLANDS ZonMw Erica Hackenitz Hackenitz@zonmw.nl
TURKEY TUBITAK Mumine Kucukdemir mumine.kucukdemir@tubitak.gov.tr

* Final decision on participation is pending.
** The inclusion of F.R.S.-FNRS as full partner of ERA PerMed is pending on the approval of an amendment of the Grant Agreement of ERA PerMed by the EC.